top of page
Site-Duclos-Communication-et-clap-cinéma

My clients

LOGO_MB_NOIR.jpg
logo-18-55productions
Logo-Bonjour
logo-LaCondamine
Logo-BienouBien
logo-EFAP
logo-Verticalproduction
logo r.cavalié
Logo- Madcitizen
logo-festival-soeurs-jumelles
logo-UnitedPostproduction
logo-JOMproductions
Logo-Isulia
logoHandEvent.png
Logo-3iS
Photo Duclos Communication

Business focus

Bien ou Bien Productions   360° communication & assistant director.

Focus on CUTIES by Maïmouna Doucouré.

I chose to focus on my communication work around the film Mignonnes by Maïmouna Doucouré, produced by Bien ou Bien productions. A very enriching mission which proved once again the importance of communication.

Cuties by Maïmouna Doucouré.

In theaters on August 19, 2020 in France, the film rights are sold to Netflix in more than 160 other countries. The streaming giant releases a different promotional poster from the original. The latter shows the actresses in a suggestive position and therefore leads to misinterpretation.  

The result is hundreds of death threats, messages denouncing a pedophile film, and numerous wrongful accusations from people who have not yet seen the film, which is not yet available on the platform. The director is accused of advocating what she actually denounces in her feature film.  

 

The crisis taking on a global dimension, we then had to seek the support of the various French actors (political and cinematographic).

We think big and contact the ministers of culture and gender equality. The question is simple: how will the government react to an attack on creative freedom? And will they defend the film and its necessary themes?

The Minister responds present and publicly supports the film.  There followed a big wave of support from associations and unions of French cinemas such as the ARP (Civil society of authors, directors and producers), the SPI (Syndicat des Producteurs Indépendants), SRF (Syndicat des Réalisateurs Français), Unifrance , SCA (Screenwriters of Associated Cinemas), ARDA (Association of Artistic Distribution Managers), ALCA (Cinema & Audiovisual Book Agency in New Aquitaine) and France Television who defend the film in turn.

The film and its director generate more than a thousand supporting articles in the international press.

 

Once this controversy behind us, following a good reception of the film when it was released in theaters, we were surprised in January not to see the main actress Fathia Youssouf appear in the list of Revelations proposed by the César Academy. Then follows an intense communication to inform the 4000 voters that she is still eligible for the César 2021. A battle to highlight her role, so that she then puts her talent forward behind the screens… Communicate again and again so that everyone considers their eligibility.


How? 'Or' What ? I establish a communication strategy: strategic planning, mailing, creation of visuals, press relations, I have to deploy all the necessary tools. But this hard work is not in vain, since the main actress Fathia Youssouf will finally be named, then winner of the César 2021 for the well-deserved Best Female Hope !

It is a brief summary of such a great experience, but which nevertheless knows how to prove the interests and the stakes of communication.

bottom of page

Site-Duclos-Communication-et-clap-cinéma

Mes clients

logo-18-55productions
logo-Verticalproduction
logo-JOMproductions
logo-LaCondamine
logo-EFAP
logo-UnitedPostproduction
logo r.cavalié
Logo- Madcitizen
logo-festival-soeurs-jumelles
Logo-BienouBien
logoHandEvent.png
IMG_6780.heic

Focus entreprise

Bien ou Bien Productions  Communication 360° & Assistanat réalisatrice.

Focus sur Mignonnes de Maïmouna Doucouré.

J’ai choisi de faire un focus sur mon travail de communication autour du film Mignonnes de Maïmouna Doucouré, produit par Bien ou Bien productions. Une mission très enrichissante et qui a su prouver une nouvelle fois l’importance de la communication.

Mignonnes de Maïmouna Doucouré.

En salle le 19 août 2020 en France, les droits du film sont vendus à Netflix dans plus de 160 autres pays. Le géant du streaming publie une affiche promotionnelle différente de l’originale. Cette dernière montre les actrices dans une position suggestive et entraine donc une mauvaise interprétation. 

En découlent des centaines de menaces de mort, des messages dénonçant un film pédophile, et de nombreuses accusations à tort de la part de personnes n’ayant pourtant pas vu le film, encore non disponible sur la plateforme. La réalisatrice est accusée de prôner ce qu’elle dénonce en réalité dans son long-métrage. 

 

La crise prenant une ampleur mondiale, il nous faut alors solliciter l’appui des différents acteurs français (politiques et cinématographiques).

Nous voyons grand et contactons les ministres de la culture et de l’égalité femme-homme. La question est simple : comment le gouvernement va-t-il réagir face à une attaque contre la liberté de création ? Et vont-ils défendre le film et ses thématiques nécessaires ?

Madame la Ministre répond présente et soutient le film publiquement.  S’en suit une grosse vague de soutien des associations et syndicats de cinémas français tels que l’ARP (Société civile des auteurs, réalisateurs et producteurs), le SPI (Syndicat des Producteurs Indépendants), SRF (Syndicat des Réalisateurs Français), Unifrance, SCA (Scénaristes des Cinéma Associés), ARDA (Association des Responsables de Distribution Artistique), ALCA (Agence Livre Cinéma & Audiovisuel en Nouvelle-Aquitaine) et France Télévision qui défendent le film à leur tour.

Le film et sa réalisatrice génèrent plus de mille articles de soutien dans la presse internationale.

 

Une fois cette polémique derrière nous, suite à un bon accueil du film lors de sa sortie en salle, nous sommes surpris en janvier de ne pas voir figurer l’actrice principale Fathia Youssouf dans la liste des Révélations proposée par l’académie des César. S’en suit alors une communication intense pour informer les 4000 votants qu’elle est tout de même éligible aux César 2021. Une bataille pour mettre en avant son rôle, afin qu’elle mette ensuite son talent en avant derrière les écrans... Communiquer encore et sans relâche afin que chacun envisage son éligibilité.


Comment ? J’établis une stratégie de communication : planning stratégique, mailing, création de visuels, relations presse, il me faut déployer tous les outils nécessaires. Mais ce travail acharné n’est pas vain, puisque l'actrice principale Fathia Youssouf sera finalement nommée, puis lauréate au César 2021 du Meilleur Espoir Féminin tant mérité !

C’est un bref résumé d’une si grande expérience, mais qui sait néanmoins prouver l'intérêts et les enjeux de la communication.